Sinier de Ridder - La Guitar 2

This book aims to put an update, complement the previous volume on guitars made in Paris from 1650 to 1950. Since we wrote this book, a decade has passed and some instruments have come back to us for assessment, maintenance or repair. In addition, instruments previously unknown to us have been brought to our workshop for expertise or restoration. In other words, we have been able to examine new instruments as well as deepen our understanding of ones we knew. In this context, it seemed an update to our previous publications was called for, so we could share what these new or returning instruments have taught us.

We hope that these updates about Voboam, Pons and Lacote will fascinate you as much as they have thrilled us.

Sinier de Ridder, La Guitare
Tome 1, Paris 1650-1950.
Addendum.


French, english and Italian texts.
Format 24 x 34 cm.

ISBN: 978-88-87618-18-1
120 € + shipping.


To order, contact: Sinier de Ridder

   
Sinier de Ridder - La Guitar 2
Altimira,  
Aubry Jacques, 
Aubry-Maire, 
Beau Simon, 
Bonnel Joseph, 
Breton François, 
Brugère François, 
Cabasse-Visnaire, 
Calot Joseph, 
Charpentier Auguste, 
Coffe-Goguette, 
Collin Hyppolite, 
Deleplanque Gérard, 
Denis Nicolas, 
Derazey Honoré, 
Didier Nicolas, 
Grobert Nicolas, 
Lajoue, Lambert, 
Leblanc Claude, 
Marcard Pierre, 
Mast Jean Laurent, 
Mauchant frères, 
Mauchant-Rouvier, 
Nicolas Didier l'Aîné, 
Otte Charles, 
Petitjean, Pons
César, Roudhloff fils, 
Roudhloff François, 
Salomon Jean François, 
Thibouville-Lamy Jérome, 
Thouvenel, 
Tranchet,
Vissenaire Nicolas.

After the volume on Parisian guitars, we wished to pay tribute to luthiers of other regions of France and their talents. During our 40-year career, we have examined guitars made in Lille, Lyons, Troyes, Toulouse and Bordeaux, but mostly a considerable number of guitars made in Mirecourt and its area. Mirecourt is a small village in the Vosges area where in 1732, the Duke of Lorraine created a "charta of corporation" to regulate the professional uses of an activity in full development.

Often anonymous, based on more imaginative than luxurious constructing techniques, instruments made in Mirecourt are appreciated the world over and have been able to impose their particular style. We tried to describe the social and professional functioning of a region entirely dedicated to the valorisation of one product: lutherie. We felt like telling how those poor men in the rural - but already industrious - Vosges set, starting in the 18th century, a remarkable professional system controlling in an autonomous way each stage of the construction of instruments; from the wood trade to the apprenticeship of the young, the finishing, the set-up and the sale of instruments and their accessories, by taking advantage of a solidarity network of travelling salesmen and dealers who sold the finished instruments to the most prestigious workshops in France and abroad.

We were touched by these luthiers, who, to answer an ever growing demand, constructed thousands of musical instruments which were not signed, leaving this care to the dealers or to their colleagues established in large cities. They have widely contributed to the spreading of French lutherie by the quality of their instruments, even if, for commercial reasons, they preferred to remain modestly hidden in a comfortable family anonymity. It is their guitars we would like to display here.


A third book will be dedicated to Italian guitars, wrote in collaboration with guitar maker and collector Giovanni Accornero, a fourth to English, Austrian, and German guitars, a fifth to spanish guitars, and another, maybe in a different template, (note-books), dedicated to the restoration of the guitar an its specific problems.


Sinier de Ridder,
The Guitar
Tome 2, Mirecourt, les provinces françaises.
French, english and Italian texts, about 50 unpublished guitars, more 400 than photos and drawings.
Format 24 x 34 cm.

ISBN: 978-88-87618-16-7
220 € + shipping.

To order, contact: Sinier de Ridder

   
Robert Bouchet
Jean Joseph Coffé
Gaudet pour Lucien Gelas
Joseph Gérard
Julian Gomez Ramirez
Nicolas Grobert
Huel
Charles Jacquot
René Lacote
Jean Nicolas Lambert
Étienne Laprévotte
François et Nicolas Lupot
Mario Maccaferri pour Selmer
Nicolas Mareschal
Guillaume Martin
Pierre Michelot
Olry
Ory
César Pons
Joseph Pons
Louis David Pons
Renault & Chatelain
Edmond Saunier
Selmer
Joseph Serdet
Charles Valance
Alexandre Voboam
Jean Voboam
Jean-Baptiste Vuillaume

The guitar is probably one of the world's widely-played musical instrument, as well as the most frequntently produced.
Over the centuries it has adaptated to composorers' needs and musicians' tastes, to new styles of performing music, to progress in the field of strings, glues and warnishes, keeping pace with fashion and oblivion.
After 35 years spendt observing and restoring guitars, encouraged by colleagues and friends, we feel the need to make our experiences public. These range from the period of ostentation, the 17th century, down to the early experiences of industrial manufacture in the 20th century.
Without making any claims in historical or musicological terms, we dedicate the first book in the series to guitar artisans, the parisian luthiers who invented the instrument. From 1650 to 1950, from Voboam to Bouchet, by way of Pons, Lacote and Laprévotte, who graced the wonderfull 19th century. In all about 50 magnificent instruments are proposed, almost all previously unpublished. Projects, innovations, transformations, and acoustic theories are examined as they contribute to the evolution of the guitar.
The instruments published have been carefully selected, and we invite you to discover them one by one, to trace their evolution, to reconstruct the work of a great maestro, of his school, of his pupils and followers


Sinier de Ridder,
The Guitar
Tome 1, Paris 1650-1950.
French, english and Italian texts, about 50 unpublished guitars, more 400 than photos and drawings.
Format 24 x 34 cm.

ISBN: 88-87618-09-7
220 € + for shipping.

SOLD OUT.

Sinier de Ridder - La Guitar 2

Ce livre mise se veut une mise à jour, un complément au précédent volume consacré aux guitares faites à Paris entre 1650 et 1950. Depuis l'écriture de ces textes environ dix ans ont passés. Certains instruments nous sont revenus pour l'entretien ou la surveillance, d'autres nous ont été confiés pour les restaurer, et d'autres encore, totalement nouveaux, sont apparus après ces publications aux fins d'expertises et de restaurations. Bref de nouveaux instruments sont passés par l'atelier. Il nous a paru alors qu'une mise à jour était nécessaire et qu'il nous fallait communiquer sur ce que ces nouveaux instruments nous avaient appris.

Nous espérons que ces mises à jour sur Voboam, Pons et Lacote vous passionneront autant qu'elles nous ont enthousiasmés.

Sinier de Ridder, La Guitare
Tome 1, Paris 1650-1950.
Addendum.


Textes en français, anglais et italien.
Format 24 x 34 cm.

ISBN : 978-88-87618-18-1
120 € + port.


Pour commander, contactez : Sinier de Ridder

   
Sinier de Ridder - La Guitar 2
Altimira,  
Aubry Jacques, 
Aubry-Maire, 
Beau Simon, 
Bonnel Joseph, 
Breton François, 
Brugère François, 
Cabasse-Visnaire, 
Calot Joseph, 
Charpentier Auguste, 
Coffe-Goguette, 
Collin Hyppolite, 
Deleplanque Gérard, 
Denis Nicolas, 
Derazey Honoré, 
Didier Nicolas, 
Grobert Nicolas, 
Lajoue, Lambert, 
Leblanc Claude, 
Marcard Pierre, 
Mast Jean Laurent, 
Mauchant frères, 
Mauchant-Rouvier, 
Nicolas Didier l'Aîné, 
Otte Charles, 
Petitjean, Pons
César, Roudhloff fils, 
Roudhloff François, 
Salomon Jean François, 
Thibouville-Lamy Jérome, 
Thouvenel, 
Tranchet,
Vissenaire Nicolas.

Après le livre sur les guitares parisiennes, nous voulons rendre hommage aux luthiers des autres régions de France et à leurs talents. Nous avons, durant nos 40 ans de carrière, examiné des guitares fabriquées à Lille, à Lyon, à Troyes, à Toulouse et à Bordeaux, mais surtout un nombre considérable de guitares faites à Mirecourt et dans sa région. Mirecourt est un petit village des Vosges pour lequel le Duc de Lorraine crée en 1732 une « charte de corporation » qui va légiférer et gérer les usages professionnels pour une activité alors en plein essor.

Souvent anonymes, faisant appel à des techniques de fabrication plus imaginatives que luxueuses, les instruments fabriqués à Mirecourt sont appréciés dans le monde entier et ont su imposer leur style particulier. Nous avons tenté de décrire le fonctionnement social et professionnel d'une région entièrement consacrée à la valorisation d'un produit : la lutherie. Nous avons eu envie de raconter comment ces hommes pauvres des Vosges rurales mais déjà industrieuses ont mis en place dès le 18e siècle un formidable maillage professionnel qui maîtrisait de façon autonome toutes les étapes de la fabrication des instruments ; du négoce du bois à l'apprentissage des jeunes, jusqu'à la finition, le montage et la revente des instruments et de leurs accessoires, en exploitant un réseau solidaire de colporteurs et négociants chargés de placer les instruments terminés dans les ateliers les plus prestigieux tant en France qu'à l'étranger.

Nous nous sommes attachés à ces luthiers qui, pour répondre à une très forte demande, ont fabriqué des milliers d'instruments de musique qu'ils n'ont pas signé, laissant ce soin aux revendeurs ou à leurs collègues établis dans les grandes villes. Ils ont contribué largement au rayonnement de la lutherie française par les qualités de leurs instruments, même si, pour des raisons commerciales, ils ont préféré rester modestement reclus dans un anonymat feutré et familial. Ce sont leurs guitares que nous aimerions vous faire connaître.


Un troisième volume, consacré aux guitares italiennes, sera écrit en collaboration avec le luthier et collectionneur Giovanni Accornero, puis un quatrième volume consacré aux guitares anglaises, autrichiennes et allemandes, un cinquième ouvrage consacrée à la guitare espagnole, et enfin un autre tome, peut-être sous la forme de cahiers, consacré aux restauration de la guitare et à ses problèmes spécifiques sont également en projet.


Sinier de Ridder,
La Guitare
Tome 2, Mirecourt, les provinces françaises.
Textes en français, anglais et italien, environ 50 guitares inédites, plus de 400 photo et dessins.
Format 24 x 34 cm.

ISBN: 978-88-87618-16-7

ÉPUISÉ

   
Robert Bouchet
Jean Joseph Coffé
Gaudet pour Lucien Gelas
Joseph Gérard
Julian Gomez Ramirez
Nicolas Grobert
Huel
Charles Jacquot
René Lacote
Jean Nicolas Lambert
Étienne Laprévotte
François et Nicolas Lupot
Mario Maccaferri pour Selmer
Nicolas Mareschal
Guillaume Martin
Pierre Michelot
Olry
Ory
César Pons
Joseph Pons
Louis David Pons
Renault & Chatelain
Edmond Saunier
Selmer
Joseph Serdet
Charles Valance
Alexandre Voboam
Jean Voboam
Jean-Baptiste Vuillaume

La guitare est probablement l’un des instruments de musique le plus joué et le plus fabriqué dans le monde.
Au cours des siècles, cet instrument s'est adapté aux exigences des compositeurs, aux désirs des musiciens, aux changements imposés par la pratique musicale, à l'évolution des cordes, des colles et des vernis, résistant aux modes et aux oublis.
Après 35 ans passés à observer, étudier et restaurer des guitares, encouragés par nos collègues et par nos amis, nous avons ressenti le besoin de transmettre notre expérience au public, en commençant par la période de faste du 17e siècle, pour terminer aux premières expériences industrielles du 20e siècle.
Sans prétendre posséder les compétences d'un historien ou d'un musicologue, nous avons consacré le premier volume de la collection aux facteurs de guitares parisiens, aux luthiers qui ont inventé la guitare.
De 1650 à 1950, de Voboam à Bouchet en passant par Pons, Lacote et Laprévotte pour illustrer le merveilleux 19e siècle, une cinquantaine d'instruments magnifiques, en quasi totalité inédits, sont proposés, explorant les projets, les innovations, les transformations et les théories acoustiques qui ont contribué à l'évolution de la guitare.
Une sélection particulièrement attentive des instruments publiés, que nous vous invitons à découvrir un à un, tente de retracer les parcours et les oeuvres des "maîtres", au travers de leurs techniques, de leurs styles et de leurs filiations.


Un troisième volume, consacré aux guitares italiennes, sera écrit en collaboration avec le luthier et collectionneur Giovanni Accornero, puis un quatrième volume consacré aux guitares anglaises, autrichiennes et allemandes, un cinquième ouvrage consacrée à la guitare espagnole, et enfin un autre tome, peut-être sous la forme de cahiers, consacré aux restauration de la guitare et à ses problèmes spécifiques sont également en projet.


Sinier de Ridder,
La Guitare
Tome 1, Paris 1650-1950
Textes en français, anglais et italien, environ 50 guitares inédites, plus de 400 photos
et dessins.
Format 24 x 34 cm.

ISBN : 88-87618-09-7
220 € + port.

Épuisé.